The Grocery Store

The grocery store experience was something else. Our apartment is literally right next to the grocery store called “Coop” (and it sounds like they’re saying ‘cop’ when they pronounce it). It was a zoo when we went. I forgot that you shouldn’t touch the produce with your bare hands when picking it – they now supply plastic gloves for you. You’re supposed to weigh your fruit yourself and a price sticker prints out for you to attach to your produce. I didn’t know this until I was checking out – but the cashier was nice about it and let me come back right away.

I was going to make chicken the first night here and couldn’t find it until later on after I’d found something else that was pre-breaded chicken…but wow, I saw a whole chicken (head and all) packaged up waiting to be bought. I wouldn’t know what to do with that, nor do I want to find out! Haha.

People were everywhere and yes, it was probably the busiest time of day, right before dinner. I need to go back to Coop soon to stock up on more water. I went with Fred which also slowed me down a bit but also he wouldn’t be able to carry much in the way of groceries on his own either. That caused me to be a bit distracted.

Anyway, I was absolutely amazed at how this store varied from Conad, the other one I’ve been to in the past. There were a lot more prepared foods in the store, grab-and-go type things that I’ve ever seen before. The pasta section made me laugh – there were a million types of pasta, that even Wegmans in Rochester doesn’t have, and Wegmans has a huge selection in comparison to Raleigh or Seattle. The pasta sauce selection was next to nothing! I know most people make their sauce here and I get it but they don’t even have 16 oz. jars here either like we do in the US. Their jars are tinier and they have different flavors of sauce even than we do, though it’s the same brand, Barilla. Anyway, I got what I needed.

The frozen food section was really a shock. There are, yet again, more of that than I’ve ever seen in Italy before. There are all kinds of foods you can choose from – just as in the US. I’ll have to take some pics at some point when I’m not bogged down by so many things if I can be discreet.

I have to go back to get more tomorrow. I hesitate on buying too many things because I don’t know if I’ll be eating at home or not from day to day and I don’t want it to go bad.

***Side note: the kitchen here is ‘different’ than what I’m used to – you know, doesn’t have the same utensils I’d have, or the right size pans, etc. I also think the stove is inoperable, because when I think I’m turning it on nothing happens, and on the stovetop, the gas burners don’t light on their own. The provided a lighter for our use so we have to light it on our own. I need to tell the people at the school about it, but I’m going to have Fred do so. I feel I’ve been bothering them about little things already enough for this week and don’t want to be a problem child. They never gave me the address and didn’t give me a map with specifics on where the school was located in town; they never printed out an updated bill for me so I asked for another; I had to ask about the power cord, etc. I just got the feeling from Anna Paola of “What again?” when I show up at their front desk. Yes, a lot of this falls on them not having done something, but still. It’s all getting worked out.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Grocery Store

  1. Karen Burke says:

    The stove probably is old style that does not have auto igniter so you will have to light it yourself. ReMEMBER…you are in the OLD country now. Don’t be pesty or high maintenance…..it’s going to take you a while to unwind and go with the flow. Nothing is high priority there and is low stress. They’ll get to your bill on their timeline. You will be there for a few weeks so you’ve got some time.
    Remember, they are on a slower pace than what you are used to!!! Sounds great though!

Leave a Reply

