Lazy Sunday

Ahh…it feels amazing to not have to do anything at all on Sunday! Normally at home I’d be running errands, cleaning, preparing for the week, doing laundry, etc. I slept in until about 9:30 (which sadly is “sleeping in” for me these days) and so far have been doing more stuff I wanted to do for me. I’ve typed up all the recipes in English that I’ve received so far (and included pictures of the steps) so that I won’t forget them. If it’s possible to come up with a place on my blog to post them, I surely will. It takes a lot of time to do this but I know it’ll be worth it in the long run.

Oh– I figured out the oven too thanks to a guy named David (who’s in my group) yesterday when we were going to Cortona.  He said that it happened to someone else he knew, and he suggested I try putting on the timer, then setting the temp. and how I want the heat to flow (see pic below – you’ll see what I mean). I tried all 3 knobs, and voila! Now, I can cook! I’m so grateful to him for sharing this with me. I was sure it was me not understanding something…and am happy that’s now one less thing to worry about.

 

Next, is figuring out the washing machine. I will probably tackle this today.I finally got around to taking photos of the apartment also. The cleaning lady didn’t come yesterday (and I understand she’s supposed to every week) so maybe today? Either way it’s suitable for now.When you first walk in the door, you’ll see straight ahead the bathroom I use. To the right is the living room area, and a bit further down the hall on the right is the kitchen entrance.

Here is the living room (almost if you walked in the front door and looked to your right, though I was in the living room taking this):            Here’s the living room from the corner of the dining area:

The view sitting at the kitchen table (check out those hills!):            Standing on the deck you can see an elementary school and there are paths to walk/ride bikes.            Here’s the bathroom I use. Now you can the shower head (that’s detachable) ½ way on the wall. Notice: no shower curtain. It makes getting ready for the day…interesting!

Here’s my bedroom:            My bedroom with lots of storage, and a door to go onto the back balcony. This is also where the washing machine is:            The kitchen (which connect the dining area to the main hallway):

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Lazy Sunday

  1. Sara McArdle says:

    Love the pics! Very cute place with a great view! The shower is the same as the ones I experienced when I was visiting the Czech Republic. I don’t think I ever asked my friend that I was staying with how the manage without a shower curtain. (Not sure why?) It was interesting. 😀 I laughed out loud at your photos of the electronic devices. Yes, so different from ours and they look completely confusing to an American! Hahaha

  2. Jenni says:

    The apartment is really cute! Good luck with the washer, I like that it’s Whirlpool brand, but all the settings are in Italiian 🙂

  3. Stefani says:

    Great pictures! Thanksk for posting them

    What in the world? No shower curtain? Plus hand-held shower… how’s that supposed to work?

    Those appliances look very confusing. All the little things that are different about being in a foreign place! 🙂

    Are the computer keyboards different there too? I remember that from being in Germany – it was hard to type because some of the keys were in different places or did different things than ours do in the US.

  4. Melissa says:

    Haha yes…I’m glad you all can sympathize now and it’s not just me! 😉 Yes, the computer keyboards are different but b/c I have my own laptop this time around I don’t have to worry about that. Last year I was lost to find something – it took me a couple minutes. Glad you enjoyed.

  5. Melissa says:

    Oh, and showering takes me like 10x’s longer. Yeah….you’d be surprised what you adapt to. what choice do I have right? When the cleaning lady comes I may attempt to use the other shower that Fred used just to see if it’s any better.

Leave a Reply

