What’s Cookin’?

Tues. night I was cooking again with Alberta and we had another student from Australia join us for one evening. We cooked fried onion patties called “Frittatine all’Aceto Balsamico Tradizionale” (they were delicious!), “Pappa al Pomodoro” which is a soup that’s got bread in it and has a tomato base (also delicious, though it sounds strange), another version of an orange flavored cake from last week called “Schiacciata alla Fiorentina,” and Tiramisù. Anyone who really knows me knows I enjoyed every minute of making the tiramisù! I made this and the Pappa al Pomodoro – the other girl made the other 2 dishes.

I was surprised how easy it is to make tiramisù, actually. It’s more time consuming than anything else. There are 2 secrets to making the perfect tiramisu:

  1. You have to have fresh eggs
  2. You must mix the egg white mixture and crème mixture together by hand, not with an electric mixer.

With these tricks – the tiramisù came out wonderful! We didn’t use alcohol though as the recipe suggests (I usually just do what Alberta tells me rather than trying to make sense of her written out directions) so I’ll ask her about it tomorrow. Meanwhile, check out some pictures of what we made:

Frittatine all’Aceto Balsamico Tradizionale (fried onion patties):Pappa al Pomodoro (soup):Schiacciata alla Fiorentina (orange flavored cake):Tiramisù:The dinner:An added bonus: I told Alberta about the mosquitoes, and she had these coils she told me she burns at night to keep the mosquitoes away. She gave me some so I could burn them – turns out they’re like incense really. I burnt it Wed. night and it worked well! I was mosquito free for the first night since I arrived. There is hope! I need to be sure I buy some more at the Coop. She gave me the package too so I know what I’m looking for. J

On a similar note, it’s been a long while since I’ve been so tired day in and day out. After I got home from cooking it was 9pm. I fell asleep on the couch at 10pm. For this night owl it’s an oddity because a) I don’t ever go to sleep this early and b) I never fall asleep on the couch. I’m listening to my body’s needs more than ever since I’ve been here and am more in tune with it, and just go to bed instead of fighting to stay awake like I normally would. No complaints there.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What’s Cookin’?

  1. Stefani says:

    Good for you! Sleep is important, and listening to your body’s needs are even more important. If your body says sleep, and you’re giving yourself sleep, that’s wonderfu.

    So glad to hear about the incense mosquito repellant stuff. Hope it works wonders for keeping them away!

    I’m looking forward to finding out what the recipe for the tiramisu is! I love that stuff.

Leave a Reply

