A Difference For Sure

Today I had class knowing that Denny wasn’t going to be the teacher (Francesca is instead) and that it would be myself and one other guy from Austria. It was really different to have it this way. I am always amazed how the dynamic changes when you take people in a class or take them away. I remember this from when I was a teacher observing when kids were absent. Sometimes life was 10x’s better when the trouble makers weren’t around and I would secretly enjoy that. In this case, I don’t know yet what to think. Francesca’s style is completely different as she’s more about conversation and less humorous for sure. I know I’ll still learn plenty from her though. Without others in the class though it’s surely more intensive (which I like) though the other guy in my class is a chatter box and without control from the teacher he’d talk the whole time!  There is only one other class going on in the school from what I see, and it has the two American women as well as one other woman from England. It’s quite a different feeling than last week when all the seminarians were there. We’ll see how the rest of this week plays out. I also may have the guy in my class come live in this apartment. He isn’t happy with where he’s at and has requested a change. I will have to see about getting a cleaning lady to come – she still hasn’t come since Fred left. If he comes tomorrow that’s fine. Wed. I’ll be gone all day to Senigallia, Thurs. night I have my (last) cooking class. Friday night I’m going to go out to dinner with Denny and Barbara before I leave on Saturday.

On a side note: I’ve been enjoying listening to the radio here when I’m at home hanging around. I forgot how nice it is to have some background noise (little by little) around. Those of you who really know me know that I am so easily distracted and having the littlest of distractions throws off my ability to concentrate. I’ve been working on this skill some since being here (to multi-task and really listen instead of just hearing) and I think it’s going better than it was. Having a clear head helps a lot.  When I was a teacher, I don’t know how I multi-tasked as much as I did. I would have my eye on one kid while another was talking to me, be able to hear him or her and respond while being able to do something else too! Now…yeah right! I think I never did a quality job at any one of those things as I do now focusing on one at a time. Ironically my dad and brother are just like me too so I guess I’m not the only one this ever happens to! I’ve been able to look back at my life over the past few years with more clarity since I’ve been here and it’s been so helpful.

It surprises me in a way how much American music there is on the stations, other English songs for sure too. I’ll have to figure out what some of them are because I like them and have never heard them in the US and have no idea what the titles are. I’ll probably record them on my phone from the radio, and do a Shazam search (application on the phone) for it once I return to the US. I’m amazed how technology helps a lot, especially at times like this. Some of the popular songs here though are “Last Friday Night” from Katy Perry, “I’m With You” by the Red Hot Chili Peppers, and Maroon 5 song “Moves Like a Jagger”. The ladder is addicting!

Tonight I have a cooking lesson with Alberta and I know we’ll be making asparagus risotto and some kind of meat. Should be good! What I mentioned above about English music here…it makes me think of when I go to her house, she has the radio on. I asked her when English songs come on if she knows what they mean, and she said no. I can’t imagine listening to another language that often and not really knowing what it is yet liking it. I mean, I do that with the Italian songs that I hear of course, but I can’t imagine forever living like that.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to A Difference For Sure

  1. Stefani says:

    You’re funny 🙂 You know those songs are the same ones played on the radio here, right? Did you listen to the radio in Seattle? (I don’t mean that as a snarky question, I’m just curious).

  2. Melissa says:

    Yes, the ones I listed of course I know. I was referring to other songs that I don’t know the title of. The only time I listened to the radio in Seattle was to/from work so it wasn’t much but enough. 😉

  3. Jenni says:

    That Katy Perry song gets stuck in my head wayyyy too easily 🙂 They seems to play it a ton when I’m in CA. Is there any good Italian pop music you’ve heard ?

  4. Melissa says:

    Yes, but again I have no idea who they are or what the song is! 🙂 I’ll figure that out soon. I’ll of course have to make you listen to them when I know. You love me, I know….

  5. I’m loving your posts, Melissa dear! Your spirit of adventure has always inspired me and gives me hope that one day I, too, will be blogging about my travels, discoveries and experiences 🙂 LOVE YOU!

  6. Susan says:

    I love that Jagger song too! I like to have the radio on with fun, peppy music in the car but I have to be careful because sometimes a random song will have a word or lyric that is totally not kid-safe and it catches me off guard! I try to just turn the volume down real fast and hope no one caught it. 🙂

  7. Stephanie Bierman says:

    First time I heard that Jagger song, wasn’t really into it….now, every time I hear it I find myself singing and wanting to get my groove on. Must be weird to hear something so American there!

Leave a Reply

