Where Will You Be In…?

Yeah, I never imagined even 1 year ago that I’d be here today! Today is Ajith’s birthday (he turns 33 – Happy birthday!) He took a bike ride this weekend in Eastern WA, so I thought this birthday cake image was appropriate!Today’s always a day when not only do I celebrate with him but I reflect a lot about where I was the year before. We’ve known each other about 6 years now and I’ve spent probably 3 of his birthdays with him. Three years ago on his 30th birthday I was in Renton, WA after having just interviewed for my job. I remember calling him while his “party” (which consisted of a gathering of people watching the candidates for President debate on TV) was going on and telling him the news that I got the job. I was so ecstatic, and it was a matter of a couple weeks later (if that) he got offered his job at T-Mobile. Other birthdays of his I seem to be traveling though I don’t remember where.

It’s fun to look back to remember where you were one year ago, and also to think about where you’ll be one year from today. Heck, I don’t even know what I’ll be doing even 4 months from now!

Either way, one of Ajith’s dreams this year is to get a new job and possibly move out of Seattle also. I am confident that’ll happen just a matter of time. I wonder where he’ll be in one year from now?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Where Will You Be In…?

  1. Stefani says:

    I remember that birthday – I was there with Ajith at his party, and I remember when you called how exciting it all was! So much change was in the air.

    Last year at this time I had just started my first semester of graduate school as well as started working as the TA in the autistic class. And I was in the heart of wedding planning – I’d just picked out my dress a few weeks before.

    Now I’m happily married 🙂 And just about halfway done with graduate school. And substitute teaching. Ha!

    Next year at this time I’ll be almost halfway through my intership, and less than 3 months away from graduating! I’m also assuming I’ll be living in a new house long before this time next year, which is very exciting. Oh, and this time next year I will NOT be substitute teaching any more. Awesome!

    • Ajith Prabhakar says:

      Mel, I definitely missed you today!! I’m used to having you come in at midnight; just like you are:-) But, I was very happy that you called before your class started. Thank you!!

      That 30th year was one of my most memorable birthdays! You were in Renton and had just been offered a job. Stef and all my hiking buddies were at Cindy’s. She had ordered pizza for all of us and baked a cake for me (She is so sweet – I love her!). And, all of us were excited about the debate. The only critique Chuck had at the end of the debate was that all my friends are left-leaning:-)

      Anyway, back to the point of this blog: Yes, so much has changed in 3 years!! I had just been offered a job as a Product Manager after having been an engineer for so long! Now, I’ve done this for 3 years and am ready to try this skill at a different company. I’ve just come to terms with the fact that the next few months hold uncertainty for me and that I’ll just have to deal with it one day at a time. In the next 3-4 months, I can’t wait to find out where you will be Mel and where I will end up:-)

      Stef, I’m so proud of everything you have accomplished in 1 year!! Congrats!! I can’t wait to see you graduate and start your life coach career!!

  2. Melissa says:

    Hahaha…yes it’s fun you could be at that birthday for him and share in the excitement! I’m glad to hear that things will feel a lot better for you this time next year. Yeah!

  3. Anne says:

    Melissa, with all your cooking classes, I don’t think there is any possible way to get out of fixing a meal for all of us! Sure sounds good! It sounds like you are having a great trip — do you get homesick? Are you doing readings yet? I wonder if they will come through better than the meditations.

  4. Melissa says:

    Anne – Nope, I’m not homesick because what my life in Seattle was something I wanted a break from. I decided not to do readings here after all because I can’t focus the way I know I need to for a reading with a client. I’m not willing to take chances. I’ll resume working again when I’m back in mid-November instead. I figure if I can’t meditate, my communication with my guides may not be so strong either!

Leave a Reply

