Updates on my Mom

I talked to my dad for a while tonight and it sounds like things are changing slightly during my mom’s stay in the hospital. They originally admitted her for issues with her CHF because she couldn’t breathe well, and discovered she has bronchitis and the beginning stages of pneumonia. Long story short, she’s still unable to breathe well and her oxygen level isn’t rising back up to where it should be (even though the fluid has been draining from her lungs), which normally allows the oxygen level to come up again because there’s room in the lungs to breathe. The doctors are concerned with some testing they’ve done that she may have had an issue for a while with her lungs and her oxygen levels. I wouldn’t be surprised if this is true because she’d often fall asleep in the middle of the day for no reason. I wondered if she has sleep apnea and even sent her a link with symptoms and prodded her to get checked out, but she didn’t do anything about it. Now they’re concerned in the hospital because things aren’t changing with her oxygen level. They’re going to do some kind of test soon where they want to insert a tube to see everything going on in her heart and check to see if her heart valves are infected, etc. They want to determine if her issues are related to her heart or her lungs or both. She is wearing a huge oxygen mask today and can’t really talk on the phone because it takes up her whole face. She took her oxygen off real quick earlier in the day for some reason and the oxygen level dropped significantly, which is why they want to ensure she has as much oxygen as possible. Tomorrow’s tests will hopefully help the doctors figure out more about what’s going on and help them determine what to do next.

Please keep her in your thoughts as I know the power “prayer” (if you want to call it that or something else) can have on certain situations.  Thank you.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Updates on my Mom

  1. Anonymous says:

    You and you family are in my thoughts and prayers. I am sure this must be so difficult to be so far away from home, and especially at a time like this. I know how it is when my parents are sick and I am only 2 hours from home. Stay strong and enjoy the rest of your trip!

  2. So that comment was from me, but I forgot to log-in to facebook….oops!!

  3. Susan says:

    Oh gosh I am sure this has to be very stressful for you being so far away and feeling disconnected and not able to be there. Thinking of you & your mom and sending positive thoughts to you both!!

  4. Ajith says:

    Oh wow! I hope they are able to find out what is going on when they check it out tomorrow.

    I remember having read in one of your previous posts or emails that your mom’s O2 levels were in the 80’s. For comparison: When Todd and I climbed Mt. Baker this year, we measured our O2 levels at 10,000 feet with a fingertip pulse oximeter. They were in the mid-high 90’s even at that elevation.

    She is definitely in my thoughts! I hope she feels better soon. Stay strong Mel and be optimistic!

  5. Katie says:

    So sorry to hear your Mom is sick, I’ll hold good thoughts that she will feel better soon. Hugs!

  6. Becca says:

    Your mom and all of you are definitely in our thoughts and prayers….

  7. Sarah Flagg says:

    Oh, Melissa, I am so sorry to hear this! I hope the doctors can figure out what is going on and that your mom is feeling better soon ❤

  8. Stefani says:

    I am thinking of you and your mom Melissa!

Leave a Reply

