Improving Every Day

Hi – Sorry I haven’t written much the past couple days. I just wanted to update you that my mom’s doing better day by day! I’m very excited to hear this and talking to her I can tell a difference too. The doctors are noticing a difference in her as well…so all in all, she’s on the road to recovery. I’m not saying she’s out of the woods yet by any means but she is improving. They want to do a chest x-ray tomorrow on her so we’ll see what comes of that. 🙂Meanwhile, things here are also improving. I heard back from the school in Tropea and I’ll travel to go there on Sunday. I’m very excited about this as it’ll be on the beach, it looked the prettiest to me, and the price is right. I’m very ready for a change. I told the school about my issues living in this house with the money that’s gone missing (that I think was stolen), etc. I know their hands are tied at this point and there’s nothing they can do.  Also, it’s awkward because one of the girls I live with is a teacher at their school.  Of course they’ll believe her over me and for all they know, I could be lying.  They understood when I told them I wanted to go elsewhere. Long story short, all ended well and I’m trying to look forward at this point.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Improving Every Day

  1. Susan says:

    First, I’m glad to hear that your mom is doing better! That has to be a relief for you. Second, I am so glad that you told them at your school about the stolen money. I wish they’d have been more interested in actively looking into it though. On the plus side, if something like this happens again the school will know there is a pattern developing and hopefully look into it further. So maybe your experience will “pay it forward” to some future student staying in that same house.

    • Melissa says:

      Yes, I agree I’m glad I said something to them. I wish also they’d taken it a bit more seriously (though I know it was uncomfortable for them to deal with). I told them I didn’t think this was an appropriate situation for future students to live in. You’re right, maybe I’ll have saved someone else from it. Hard to say.
      Something I’ve thought about it that often, foreigners think Americans are rich because of what they see on TV. I know this sounds weird, but someone else at the other school (a boy in my class) alluded to the fact he thought I was well off because I wore a different outfit without rewearing the same thing twice in 2 weeks. I had to explain clothes are cheaper in the US and that I was on vacation for 4 mo. I know that’s what he was thinking though. I wouldn’t be surprised if something similar happened here as well with a misunderstanding or something. Ugh.

  2. Carmen Quall says:

    When I looked at the schools you were reviewing earlier this is the one that looked/felt the best to me! I am so excited for you. And pleased that your Mom is feeling better, too. The beach looks so incredible….more pictures soon, please 🙂

  3. Stefani says:

    Awesome! Glad to hear your mom is doing better. Also glad to hear that you were able to work it out to go to this new school in such a beautiful location! Can’t WAIT to hear about it!

    And yes, the whole situation with the money was just an awkward situation for everyone involved all around. My feeling is that it was mainly meant as an eye-opener for you as one more thing to show you that you need to move on and go somewhere else. I do hope that the school will not house any future students there though – even if they don’t believe you about the stolen money – the bathroom situation and the fact that the room is not private since others have to walk through it to get to laundry – just makes it pretty inappropriate in my opinion.

Leave a Reply

