Giuseppe

The group of students at the school would go to this cute little café every day during our break, and Guiseppe was our waiter daily. His parents own this café and he and his brother work there. I am amazed at the long hours he puts in daily, and yet every day he shows up pleasant, with a smile, and made our time here wonderful. I gave him a tip on the last day and told him why…he was not used to this (in Italy you don’t tip – most of the time there’s a ‘cover charge’ put on your bill for you sitting there) and was sooo appreciative. He was sweet and definitely earned it!I am continuously amazed by the culture here. People work hard day in and day out just to ‘make it.’ Related to this also is how important it is for families to stay close. It is very rare for an Italian to move away from his or her hometown because this is where you were born and raised, and this is where you stay. Giuseppe will probably never leave and I’d imagine someday will take over the family business. On one hand it’s sweet that family is so important here. I value that a lot. On the other hand, it feels like there’s little choice one has to get out there and try to find other opportunities rather than those around in the local area. Again, another something in my face reminding me how grateful I am to be where I am in my own life. Life could certainly be more tough. I really don’t know tough like others do, nor do I want to experience that life either. I’m so thankful for this experience because people like Giuseppe have helped me see life from a new perspective.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Giuseppe

  1. Jenni says:

    How sweet of you! Now that is a ciao guido! 😉

  2. Carmen Quall says:

    I love the pictures. All of them! This cafe and the feel of the town. I have uncles/aunts/cousins/nieces in Croatia and when I was there during the summer we would walk to town to the market each day for fresh bread and fruit. Everyone knows each other and families stay close. What I liked the very most was the pace at which they live life. I had to make a conscious effort to slow down and after a month and a half there and back in the States the disparity was illuminating. Thanks so much for doing this blog. Its so fun to connect to!

  3. Sara McArdle says:

    He’s darling!

Leave a Reply

