Change of Appetite

Tonight I decided to go out for a pizza because it’s been a bit since I’ve had some. I heard about this good place I wanted to check out and figured it was a good time to try it. The pizza here is thin, but probably the size of a medium American pizza. You probably have to eat two slices together to equal the thickness of an American piece of pizza though. I definitely am noticing that I can’t eat the amount of food I used to be able to in the US. This is great because I’m eating more regular portions and I can tell a significant difference in the way my clothes are fitting (yeah!) but tonight really showed me how much my appetite has shrunk. I was having trouble finishing the pizza! That’s a first!

Also, I am feeling I need a break from the typical pizza and pasta diet. Another first because these are two of my favorite foods. I think next time I’m going to order some meat (yes…you saw right – this quasi vegetarian is going to do it) because I need some more variety. I’ll report back soon on that one! I will say the other night I tried someone’s steak and someone else’s lamb. I prefer the steak of course but was glad I tried something new. I’ve had lamb before in Mediterranean restaurants, but was curious about it here. It was  pretty good.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Change of Appetite

  1. Ajith says:

    That is indeed a first! In our 6 yrs of friendship, I cannot remember a single time when you had bring unfinished pizza home. Good for you!! Can’t wait to see you soon:-)

  2. Melissa says:

    Note: I didn’t bring it home, I did end up finishing it. It’s not exactly common to ask to take left overs home. I do feel like I overate though. I should’ve stopped much sooner. :-/

  3. Ajith says:

    I’ll definitely be eating a lot of lamb in Greece and Turkey:-) You’ll have plenty of opportunities to try it too. A Shawarma with tender, marinated lamb meat sounds so good to me right now!

  4. Susan says:

    Are fish and seafood a big part of the diet where you are, or is that not as common there?

Leave a Reply

