Life is Good

It is! I ate dinner out this evening and couldn’t help but realize what an amazing adventure this has been. I’m finally to a point I can take it all in for what it is.  It doesn’t seem like reality that it’s going to come to an end soon. I was sitting there tonight, reflecting upon where I was 3 months ago – I had just left my job, was preparing to move all my stuff into storage, and pack for my trip. I was under immense stress and it seemed impossible I’d get to the point where I am today where my biggest care in the world is “Where am I going to eat tonight?” I basked in that moment realizing I have no stress right at this moment, and literally not having to be somewhere at a certain time is odd but great! I feel like I’ve really adapted to a laid back, relaxed lifestyle and hope I can bring that back with me. Right now, I’m soaking it all up!!! Calabria has done wonders for my soul!Life here is simple yet ‘rich’ at the same time. I really loved this evening walking to the main piazza where the people meet each night. I had a drink with Nicola and his friend and people just stopped by our table at the cafe to talk and say hi. I love the fact that a community exists here, and that the people are so genuine and curious about one another. There are two waitresses in fact who work at a cafe I’ve been to a couple times who somehow remember my name every time I see them. I walked by a restaurant tonight that I went to last night and the hosts who welcome guests in remembered me. This kind of stuff doesn’t happen often in the US. In fact, I rarely know my neighbors. My life in Cary was different because I did actually know my neighbors, but this is one of the few times in life I did. Even the other day I went out for a bit and in a short time I saw all the people I met on Saturday night when I ate with the large group. It was so nice to see familiar faces who I actually felt comfortable enough to say hello to, and not feel awkward about it.  I’m sad thinking about having to leave here. I definitely would love to come back here, and I haven’t even left yet!

I have taken some time to reflect upon my life in Seattle and am sort of amazed I was able to live that life. It was constantly full, on the go, and feels very cluttered with white noise (things that didn’t really matter) when I think back about it. My life there feels like an eternity ago, and the thought of going back doesn’t thrill me. I’m absolutely positive I’m ready to begin a new chapter of life seeking friends who make you feel comfortable to call them up anytime and pick up where you left off. I’m not saying this in a negative way to those who I know in Seattle because believe me, I’m grateful for all the people I have there because my time there wouldn’t have been the same without any one of them. However, I think I feel comfortable calling only one person just because I feel like it (outside of Ajith). It’s been something I’ve been missing in life a lot, and this experience has helped me realize how important friendships are and also how crucial they are in helping you experience life. I’ve been so blessed by having the good friends I do who are near and far. It’s amazing how some people are close to you in your heart no matter what. More reasons to be grateful – life is good!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Life is Good

  1. Susan says:

    I wish there was a way for me to LIKE this post! 🙂 It sounds like you are in a wonderful place and I’m so happy for you. I’m glad you are able to “soak it all in” and enjoy the experience. What a blessing that you’ve made this opportunity for yourself, to take this time and have an adventure and truly enjoy it.

Leave a Reply

