Cape Cod – 20 Years in the Making!

In mid-August my best friend growing up, Jenni, and I took a week long trip to Cape Cod…it was beautiful!

Cape Cod

When we were 14, I got to go with her family to Cape Cod for vacation. We had a BLAST! For our 14 year old selves, the highlight of our trip was being on the Mass Turnpike and seeing a kid in another van that looked just LIKE Thomas Ian Nicholas, one of the newest child stars featured in some newly released movies, like “Rookie of the Year”!!!

Thomas Ian Nicholas

Us, being the girly girls we were, had BOP and Teen Beat magazines with us and were comparing the pictures in the magazines to the boy we were seeing (asleep) in the van. I got the attention of the woman in the front passenger seat of the van, and pointed back and forth between the pictures in the magazine to the boy sitting behind her, basically asking “Is that HIM!?!?” and she smiled, and shook her head yes!!!!!  Hahaha that made our trip fun, for sure!

The funnier part: one week later when we were heading back to NY on the Mass Turnpike, once again, we saw the SAME white conversion van with the pink pin stripe with IL license plates…and we got to see him AGAIN! What are the chances!?!

Sidenote: posting this pic of him so young makes me feel like a pervert! Here’s a picture of what he looks like today. I’d still be pretty excited if I saw him now. 🙂 You’ll recognize him from American Pie – one of the best movies of my generation, also!Thomas Ian Nicholas2ANYWAY…we had such a fun time at the Cape when we were young we told ourselves back then that we’d like to come back when we were older. So….this year things lined up and we decided to do it!

We rented a house in Dennisport, different from Welfleet where we stayed previously. It was a perfect space for us – it had 2 bedrooms, a nice living room, and a kitchen with a screened in patio and a grill. We were able to cook at home sometimes and we ate out at a variety of gluten-free friendly restaurants too. 🙂

We spent a total of 3 days at the beach throughout the week – wow, the water was cold! BUT the rest was beautiful!beach3beach

We took a day trip into Boston also. I wanted to get around to see “a day in the life” of some of the neighborhoods I’m considering living in when I make my move. We went to Cambridge, which I wasn’t a fan of. It reminded me of the Park Ave. area of Rochester…but in Boston! If I’m going to live in Boston, I want the Boston experience (not Rochester in Boston)!

Beacon Hill is absolutely gorgeous and quaint…I’m sold! Plus, it helps that my Spirit Guides told me before I ever went to Boston that I should live in the gaslight district of the city – well, here it is! Apparently they converted the lamps from gas to electric a few years back, but it’s still just as gorgeous!

Beacon HillThis next picture is the most photographed street in the entire US – so beautiful! The cobblestone street is preserved as it was way back when.

Beacon Hill 2We also went to Little Italy (aka as The North End) for dinner.

North End

We were meeting up with a guy in Boston I’d been chatting with for a while, and it was a lot of fun! We had drinks before hand, then had a fabulous dinner together at Ristorante Fiore.

fioreIMG956558After dinner we had some cannolis then went out for cappuccino…mmm! My idea of a perfect night out in Boston!

20140820_225057

We also made a day trip to Martha’s Vineyard, where we each bought a new pair of sunglasses.

20140820_161304

We also went to Provincetown for a day, with a stop at a local winery!

20140822_144549wine tastingIn all, this was a fabulous trip away, and well worth the 20 year wait! Another dream that was in the making that came true!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Cape Cod – 20 Years in the Making!

  1. Thank you for sharing! I love the photos. I ‘m so glad you had such a lovely time with your friend. 🙂

  2. Stefani says:

    Glad you had such a fun trip! I love your story about the star kid sighting – what an awesome experience that must have been 🙂

Leave a Reply

