Embracing My Inner Rebel

I did it!!!! My inner rebel has been unleashed…!!!

20141003_165628Last night I decided it was time. I had a nice visit with my parents last week. They left on Tuesday afternoon. During their visit, we visited family friends who have a daughter who is pierced and tattooed all over. Afterward I was able to bring up with my mom how I could handle dealing with a nose stud (wink wink!), but not the type of nose ring that goes between the nostrils (reminding me of a bull). My mom agreed, and admitted that no matter what this family friend looks like, she still loves her. You better believe I’ll remind her of this if I get a negative reaction!!!

One lesson I learned this week from a client I worked with: often we initiate the reaction from others by assuming what they’ll say or do. This client’s Spirit Guides were very clear that she was blocking others’ authentic reactions by putting up her guard and expecting them to be a certain way, preventing others’ true reactions from shining through because they were reacting to her behavior. I absolutely am keeping this in mind. πŸ™‚

Anyway…I chose to go to Dogstar Tattoo because of the wonderful reviews I found online. Everyone raved about its cleanliness and sterile environment, and many praised Shea, the piercer. I was amazed how different this place was from what I expected! It was clean, bright, had music playing at a low volume, and everyone who worked there was very warm and welcoming.

20141002_195358Shea helped me pick out which stud would be best for me (I wanted something small and flush to the nose without standing out completely). I was shocked to see how large the nose piece really is! Luckily he twisted it and manipulated it to fit my nose contour the best so it doesn’t move around inside. I had no idea about any of that…look at the size! My stud is the thing at the bottom of the picture. It looks like a nail I’d use to hang up photos on the wall!

20141002_191307The actual procedure definitely hurt for about 3 seconds but after that it was over. It came out beautifully!

20141002_195521I feel like I’m complete in a way I haven’t ever felt before – how strange (and cool)! I have been feeling a little ‘flat’ lately and I feel the zest coming back. Who knew something so small would make such a huge difference?

I ordered a small silver stud (the one I have is a small cubic zirconia) and will go back to them in about a month so they can change it out. I truly wanted a small silver stud but they didn’t have any in stock. I’ll see how that looks in comparison. Meanwhile, I’m just getting used to the look of this but in all, I’m very pleased with how it turned out!

Can you believe I did it!? Another dream that I made come true! It only took about 4 years since my first urge before I leaned in to it. Better late than never!

In my last post, I forgot to mention that this is the second time I’ve had this urge (which is why I felt it was important to pay attention to). The last time was just before I turned 30. I had just gone through one of the toughest times in my life, and the calling came just shortly after. I think this nose piercing somehow symbolizes self-empowerment, freedom, and independence for me. This time around the urge came back after my Boston trip (which really helped me embrace the changes I’m making). It’s fun to see similarities amongst the urges…and more importantly it’s fun giving into them (it’s about time!). πŸ™‚

Random fact: I know a number of people who have nose piercings. You know how they say people are our mirrors, right? I counted up 11 people off the top of my head who have their nose pierced. I think it’s a sign!

When I was featured as a contributing author in Kids Who See Ghosts I counted up the number of people I know who published books, and it was over 20! That seems rare to know so many authors…another sign I must be destined to really write the book I’m being intuitively called to write. Very interesting!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Embracing My Inner Rebel

  1. Awesome!I love how it feels like it has given you new energy/inspiration moving forward.It’s been so long since we last talked. :(We seem to be on different paths these days.Just know I love you and look forward to when our paths move toward each other again.Big hugs.Teresa

    Date: Sat, 4 Oct 2014 05:14:19 +0000 To: trieland@hotmail.com

    • Melissa says:

      Indeed it has been too long! Thank you for being you and understanding. There have been a lot of things going on in my head I’ll share when we talk (soon!). Lots of changes are happening, as always, and I expect so with you too. I hope to catch you this week. ❀

  2. Yay!! So glad it was such a great experience and it totally looks natural on you πŸ™‚ I found mine to be the same way, and I had a similar experience with my husband. He was in support, though did add that it’s the only facial piercing he was in support of!

Leave a Reply

